Party in the ELCA

Last week was the ELCA Youth Ministry Network Extravaganza in New Orleans.  It is an annual gathering, “that draws together anywhere from 500-750 adults who work with youth in congregations of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America for the premier renewal, education and networking event of our church.  It is for the professional and the volunteer.  It is for the old and the young.  It is for the urban, the suburban and the rural.  It is for pastors, it is for laypeople.  It is for all who share in the adventure we call youth and family ministry.”
I have attended several Extravanganzas and have to say that this one was one of the best.  From the large group gatherings, workshops, to conversations with colleagues, and time to explore New Orleans in preparation for this summer’s Gathering, I left feeling energized (and maybe a bit exhausted) and inspired for ministry with and for young people.  It is good to be surrounded by people who ‘get it.’

I hope that myself and a few of the others who attended the Extravanganza will be able to post more about our time in NoLa but I wanted to share a fun video of a friend performing some new lyrics to Miley Cyrus’ “Party in the USA”

Here are the Lyrics:
PLEASE NOTE: This is a PARODY of Party in the USA- Written by Jessie J, Dr. Luke, and Claude Kelly and made popular by Miley Cyrus on Hollywood Records.

Verse 1:
Walk through the doors of a Lutheran Church
NRSV and my offering
Greeted by a couple way older than me
Am I gonna fit in?
Back row pew- here I am for the first time
Look to my right and I see an “all are welcome” sign
Let’s begin the praisin’ with Grace that’s Amazin’
My tummy’s turning ‘cause they ran out of doughnuts
I hope we have some communion!
That’s when the Pastor stepped up to the microphone
And she said “peace be with you!”
She said “peace be with you!”
She said “peace be with you!”

Chorus:
We don’t put our hands up when we’re singing to God…
Traditional is how we praise
Nodding our head? No way!
Stand and sit on repeat all day!
We’re coming as we are (sinners and saints)
Doesn’t matter if you’re straight or gay
YEAH! It’s a party in the ELCA!
YEAH! It’s a party in the ELCA!

Verse 2:
I flip through the pages for the ‘Hymn of the day”
In the ELW
I landed right on “Borning Cry” – Hymn number 7-3-2
Harmonies from the girls around me…
I thought the sign said contemporary?
All I hear is an organ!
A REALLY REALLY loud organ!
Traditional, but I’m digging what I’m hearing
I fell in love with the lyrics
Then the Pastor stepped up to the mic and said
“there’s a potluck after church”
A potluck after church?
A POTLUCK AFTER CHURCH!

Chorus:
We don’t put our hands up when we’re singing to God…
Traditional is how we praise!
Nodding our head? No way!
Stand and sit on repeat all day!
We’re coming as we are (sinners and saints)
Doesn’t matter if you’re straight or gay
YEAH! It’s a party in the ELCA!
YEAH! It’s a party in the ELCA!

 

This entry was posted in Events, Resources, Young Adult Ministries, Youth Ministries and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Party in the ELCA

  1. Abby Triebel says:

    LOVE that you shared this!!!

Leave a Reply

