Lent with Youth

I’m certain that there are probably dozens of great ways to engage youth in the season of Lent.  But this year, I’m also certain the church I work for has found one.  We are using the program “Overheard Conversations of the Cross”.  This year’s “program” was picked without me. I was away at the ELCA Youth Ministry Extravaganza.  And to be honest I probably would have spoken out against this one.  It’s speculated conversations that are not actually found in scripture.  HOWEVER, one week down, and my youth were totally engaged by it.  Last week’s drama was a conversation between Malchus and Mark.  All of a sudden Malchus and Mark were real to them.  They had feelings, doubts, belief’s, disappointments and hopes.  The drama drove home a point I try to make over and over again; the folks in the Bible had many of the same doubts, fears and everything else we do.  This past Sunday, I told them we would “meet” Barabbas, a real life bad guy.

In so many ways, we sometimes make Lent a traditional journey rather than a spiritual journey.  I am so happy this lent (yes I see the contradiction) to be on a truly enlightening and spiritual journey with my youth.

About Abby Triebel

Abby is a Full Time Youth Leader in Upstate NY.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

