Modeling the way

I thought I knew something about modeling the way for young people.  I thought I was a youth leader with experience and the wisdom of others guiding the way.  And then I met “Lucy”.  “Lucy” is a Jehovah’s Witness.  I go into her home a few times a week to clean.  She has never tried to convert me, never been anything but polite and friendly.  Almost every morning I’m in her home, I hear her on the phone with younger members of her church, praying with them, reading the word with them, talking about it with them, and sharing faith stories with them.  I’m amazed by the amount of time and energy she devotes to young women in her fellowship.  And then, I’m truly amazed by how easy it is for her to do this.  I’m supposed to be doing that exact same thing for a living, and I stumble, I get caught, and I certainly don’t make nearly as many phone calls.  All day, I’ve been thinking about how I can use my time better to spend more of my time having these one on one conversations.  Ideally, our youth are also having these faith forming conversations with their parents and others, but I have been shown up big time by what I thought was an unlikely candidate.  I love that as much as I love my faith and practicing my faith and sharing my faith that God finds these opportunities to show me what people of other faith’s have and what I can learn from them, and what and open heart and an open mind can do.  As Christmas vacation comes, I am making a solid promise to have a meaningful conversation with as many youth as I can while they are free from school and the usual distractions in hopes that our relationship grows, and in turn, their relationship with Christ grows.

About Abby Triebel

Abby is a Full Time Youth Leader in Upstate NY.
This entry was posted in Cross Generational Ministries, Ideas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

