Money Matters … or does it?

If you are like most churches out there, it’s budget time.  Or it was a month ago, but it has yet to pass, and like me, you are still wondering about what next year’s budget really will look like.  each year we go through the same thing, we submit numbers, we get numbers back, and we either feel blessed or challenged.  Feeling challenged is easy.  Feeling blessed takes a little bit of energy, but not very much.

When it comes to planning for next year, I have come to the realization that I am very blessed.  I have people who support the payment of my salary and value my ministry.  We have a full supply closet, filled to the point of hoarding.  I might not be able to do the exact craft or project I want, but I can sure do something.  I have an internet full of ideas for games and events that I do not have to purchase.  Forget the books at $19.95 a piece.  I have a personal movie collection that is brand new to most of my youth.  They have never seen some of the classics that I grew up with (like Beetlejuice & Indiana Jones !!) We have loving and willing volunteers.  They’re the same faces I’ve been seeing, but their still here, and they’re still willing to put up with me.  New faces would be nice, but I love the old ones too.  We work well together, I know what they are awesome at, they know my weaknesses, and they know when to hand me a cup  of coffee.

Because of these, and so many reasons more, I know that the ministry here at St. John’s is blessed, and not because of the budget.  The truth of the matter is that Jesus did ministry without a budget.  We live in a different time, and I am sure that funding is necessary, but no matter what your budget is, make sure you take time to be encouraged by the resources you have right in front of you.  If you can’t see them, grab a cup of coffee and look again.

 

About Abby Triebel

Abby is a Full Time Youth Leader in Upstate NY.
This entry was posted in Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

