Beyond Maintenance to Mission; Craig Nessan

I’m reading a book, and I am not all the way through it, but I have decided to comment on it anyway.  To be honest, I had a hard time getting into it.  I hated the first chapter.  But I stuck with it and I’m getting there.  The book is called Beyond Maintenance to Mission; A Theology of the Congregation by Craig Nessan.  Like I said, I stuck with it, and am now part way through Chapter 6, which happens to be titled Education: Making Disciples.  This chapter has been really meaningful to me.  For one thing, education is one of my chief responsibilities in the congregation I serve.  But I have also totally enjoyed what I read so far.  Of the many books that I have read on Christian Education, this one chapter made the steps to obtaining valuable Christian education look realistic and doable.  Above all, it set up three stages of Christian Ed; learning the Christian story, thinking through the Christian story, and finally living the Christian faith.

I recommend that anyone new to Christian Ed, or overwhelmed by dealing with the advice they have, start with this book, this chapter.

About Abby Triebel

Abby is a Full Time Youth Leader in Upstate NY.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

