My life made easy

This year, I took one simple step to make all my events easier for me and easier for parents.  This simple step to save time and aggravation is called the annual permission slip.  I no longer spend time creating permission slips for each individual event, parents no longer fill them out for every event, and I always know where the forms are and what information is on them.  Before doing this, I checked to make sure that our insurance company was on board, they had no problems with the concept and only advised that we use a different more complex form for long distance or out of state trips. 

A simple Google search will give you forms to start with, and then you can move from there.  A few helpful hints..

1.  Ask for the child’s birthday, not age.  This is what Emergency Medical Personnel want to know. 

2.  Put a photo release on there.  This saves you time and energy when you want to share those pictures.

3. Parents are often reluctant to trust us with confidential medical information.  Advise them that you will keep it confidential.  Remind that it helps you care for their child in the best way.  Finally, remind them that emergency personnel and hospitals need to know this information in order to best treat their child.  Not only do I have this conversation with them, but it’s on the form.  It says “Medical Information/Conditions that we would need to inform Emergency Personnel Of:”

4. Before Events (and at least once a month) I ask parents to quickly check their child’s form to make sure everything is still up to date. 

I hope this helps make your ministry run a little bit smoother!

 

 

About Abby Triebel

Abby is a Full Time Youth Leader in Upstate NY.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My life made easy

  1. Jacques says:

    After looking at a handful of the articles on your web site,
    I honestly appreciate your way of writing a blog. I saved as a favorite it to my
    bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.
    Take a look at my web site as well and let me know your opinion.

Leave a Reply

